Altaro VM Backup Support Centre



How do I migrate my Altaro configuration to another machine?

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2017 10:43AM CEST
Altaro VM Backup automatically backs up its configuration to the set primary location. This allows us to restore the configuration using a CLI tool. The configuration is saved in the 'ConfigBackup' folder under the backup location configured in the product.




It is important to note that:
 
  • The product's UI must be closed before any attempt to restore the configuration.
  • After that the restore is done, the hosts and backup location credentials need to be re-authenticated.



To use the tool, please proceed as follows:
 
  1. After installing Altaro VM Backup on the new machine, download the Altaro Config Restore Tool.

  2. Extract and copy the Altaro.ConfigRestore.exe to the folder "C:\Program Files\Altaro\Altaro Backup".

  3. Open an admin command line prompt and browse to the folder where you saved the “Altaro.ConfigRestore.exe” file.

  4. Run the tool by typing "Altaro.ConfigRestore.exe".

  5. When prompted, enter your backup location (this needs to be supplied as previously configured in Altaro backup location). NOTE: if the backup location is a network location, you will be prompted to enter the domain credentials in order to access the configuration backup.

  6. The services are stopped, the last backed up product configuration version is restored, and the services are then started automatically.

  7. Important. After the tool has completed the restore, make sure to re-enter passwords for your backup locations.


  8.  

Limitation:
 
The CLI import tool should not be used to move Altaro configuration between nodes in the same cluster. 
Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Google+ Blog

© 2017 Altaro Software
Customer service software powered by Desk.com
beta@altaro.com
http://assets2.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete